Obama names American reps to halibut commission

KODIAK, Alaska (AP) - Two Alaskans and a Washington state man have been appointed to the International Pacific Halibut Commission.

The Kodiak Daily Mirror reports ( http://is.gd/qPHdOM) President Obama has reappointed Jim Balsinger to another three-year term. He's head of the National Marine Fisheries Service in Alaska.

Also appointed were Homer fisherman Don Lane and Bob Alverson, manager of the Fishing Vessel Owners' Association in Seattle.

The commission is comprised of three Americans and three Canadians. It will meet next week in Seattle to set catch limits for the Pacific Ocean.


Information from: Kodiak (Alaska) Daily Mirror, http://www.kodiakdailymirror.com

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Top Stories

  • Not the End
    Officials have another trick up their sleeves to help save King County's bus service

  • Changes Underway
    After high hopes, the Mariners confirm they've sent Nick Franklin to the minors

  • Choke Hold
    The FDA is about to regulate a product that helps people quit tobacco
ATTENTION COMMENTERS: We've changed our comments, but want to keep you in the conversation.
Please login below with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing MyNorthwest account holders will need to create a new Disqus account or use one of the social logins provided below. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Sign up for breaking news e-mail alerts from MyNorthwest.com
In the community
Do you know a student who stands out in the classroom, school and community?
Help make their dreams come true by nominating them for a $1,000 scholarship and a chance to earn a $10,000 Grand Prize. Brought to you by KIRO Radio and Comprehensive Wealth Management.

Do you know an exceptional citizen who has impacted and inspired others?
KIRO Radio and WSECU would like to recognize six oustanding citizens this year. Nominate them to be recognized and to receive a $2,000 charitable grant.