APTRA announces Mark Twain Awards for broadcasters

PASADENA, Calif. (AP) - The Associated Press Television-Radio Association honored broadcast journalists from 13 western states Saturday with the APTRA Mark Twain Awards.

The Stan Chambers Award for Extraordinary Achievement went to KTTV Los Angeles reporter Hal Eisner.

KTVU, Oakland, won the award for television station of the year and KCBS radio, San Francisco, won for radio station of the year.

The Pat Davis Radio Reporter of the Year awards went to Bret Burkhart of KGO, San Francisco, and Lance Orozco of KCLU, Ventura/Santa Barbara. The Chris Harris Reporter of the Year award for television went to Monte Francis of KNTV, San Francisco.

The Mark Twain awards were judged by AP broadcasters in North Carolina, Indiana and Illinois.

The awards were presented Saturday at the Pasadena Convention Center.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Top Stories

  • Trial Beginning
    Twelve Seattle police officers will begin using new body-worn cameras next week

  • Week in Photos
    Penguins, cheetahs and Santa make it in this week's photos
ATTENTION COMMENTERS: We've changed our comments, but want to keep you in the conversation.
Please login below with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing MyNorthwest account holders will need to create a new Disqus account or use one of the social logins provided below. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Sign up for breaking news e-mail alerts from MyNorthwest.com
In the community
Do you know an exceptional citizen who has impacted and inspired others?
KIRO Radio and WSECU would like to recognize six oustanding citizens this year. Nominate them to be recognized and to receive a $2,000 charitable grant.