States that have right-to-work laws

| Zoom

(AP) - Michigan is on the verge of becoming the 24th state with a right-to-work law, which would prohibit requiring workers to join a union or pay fees that are equivalent to union dues as a condition of employment. Here's a list of the 23 states that already have such a law:

_ Alabama

_ Arizona

_ Arkansas

_ Florida

_ Georgia

_ Idaho

_ Indiana

_ Iowa

_ Kansas

_ Louisiana

_ Mississippi

_ Nebraska

_ Nevada

_ North Carolina

_ North Dakota

_ Oklahoma

_ South Carolina

_ South Dakota

_ Tennessee

_ Texas

_ Utah

_ Virginia

_ Wyoming


Source: U.S. Department of Labor.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Top Stories

  • Sordid Tale
    Tom Tangney found himself asking whether 'Foxcatcher' was worth it

  • Turnaround Underway
    The state's first charter school is on probation, but the director promises improvements
ATTENTION COMMENTERS: We've changed our comments, but want to keep you in the conversation.
Please login below with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing MyNorthwest account holders will need to create a new Disqus account or use one of the social logins provided below. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Sign up for breaking news e-mail alerts from
In the community
Do you know an exceptional citizen who has impacted and inspired others?
KIRO Radio and WSECU would like to recognize six oustanding citizens this year. Nominate them to be recognized and to receive a $2,000 charitable grant.