Carla Bley, Chicago club owner named Jazz Masters

WASHINGTON (AP) -- Composer Carla Bley, saxophonists George Coleman and Charles Lloyd and Chicago jazz club owner Joe Segal are being honored with the nation's highest award in jazz.

The National Endowment for the Arts announced Wednesday that the four will receive the 2015 NEA Jazz Masters Award. They will be honored in April 2015 at New York's Lincoln Center. Each musician receives a $25,000 fellowship.

Bley of Willow, New York, is hailed as one of the premier composers of the last 50 years.

Coleman of Jersey City, New Jersey, grew up in Memphis learning to play the blues and toured with B.B. King.

Lloyd of Santa Barbara, California, is honored for his improvisational skills and for fusing jazz with other music.

And Segal has been presenting jazz in Chicago since 1947.

Copyright © The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Top Stories

  • Does This Make Sense?
    Jason Rantz questions Inslee's plan to fund transportation with carbon pollution tax

  • Big Release
    Michael Medved takes a look at whether the latest Hobbit film is worth your interest

  • Holiday Map
    Find holiday events, Santa photo opportunities, and light displays
ATTENTION COMMENTERS: We've changed our comments, but want to keep you in the conversation.
Please login below with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing MyNorthwest account holders will need to create a new Disqus account or use one of the social logins provided below. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Sign up for breaking news e-mail alerts from
In the community
Do you know an exceptional citizen who has impacted and inspired others?
KIRO Radio and WSECU would like to recognize six oustanding citizens this year. Nominate them to be recognized and to receive a $2,000 charitable grant.