Despite another stellar season that included a perfect game, the Mariners Felix Hernandez finished a distant fourth in voting for the American League Cy Young Award.

Tampa Bay Rays ace David Price won the award Wednesday, edging 2011 winner Justin Verlander.

Price, who went 20-6 with a league-leading 2.56 ERA this past season, received 14 of 28 possible first-place votes and finished with just four more points than Verlander, who received 13 first-place votes, ESPN reports.

The vote by the Baseball Writers' Association of America was the closest since 1970.

Los Angeles Angels ace Jered Weaver finished ahead of Hernandez in third.

Follow Josh Kerns, Reporter

share this story:

ATTENTION COMMENTERS: We've changed our comments, but want to keep you in the conversation.
Please login below with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing MyNorthwest account holders will need to create a new Disqus account or use one of the social logins provided below. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
Copyright © 2014 Bonneville International. All rights reserved.