Hear Tom Tangney and John Curley every weekday at 9am on KIRO Radio 97.3 FM
LIVE NOW:  Listen to the stream   |   Watch the in-studio video

Seahawks score big with 2014 ESPY nominations

Quarterback Russell Wilson follows up last year's "Best Breakthough Athlete" nomination with a nod for "Best NFL Player." (KIRO Radio/Jenette Warne)

By Alyssa Kleven

As if winning the Super Bowl isn't enough, the Seahawks are up for another trophy this year, nominated for four ESPYs, the annual sports awards given out by ESPN.

The Seahawks are nominated for "Best Team" along with five other champion teams: The San Antonio Spurs, the Boston Red Sox, the Los Angeles Kings, Florida State football, and women's basketball at the University of Connecticut.

Quarterback Russell Wilson follows up last year's "Best Breakthough Athlete" nomination with another for "Best NFL Player."

This year, Richard Sherman gets the "Best Breakthrough" nod. While the cornerback led the league in interceptions, he won't be facing off in this category against any NFL receivers.

Head coach Pete Carroll was nominated for "Best Coach/Manager," too.

Since the ESPYs started in 1993, a Seahawk has never won.

You can see the complete list of nominees and cast your vote for the ESPY winners at ESPN.com through July 16.

Rapper Drake will host the awards show on July 16, at 6 p.m. PST.

Alyssa Kleven, MyNorthwest.com Editor
Alyssa Kleven is an editor and content producer at MyNorthwest.com. She enjoys doting over her adorable dachshund Winnie - named for Arcade Fire front-man Win Butler.
ATTENTION COMMENTERS: We've changed our comments, but want to keep you in the conversation.
Please login below with your Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or Disqus account. Existing MyNorthwest account holders will need to create a new Disqus account or use one of the social logins provided below. Thank you.
comments powered by Disqus
In the community
Do you know an exceptional citizen who has impacted and inspired others?
KIRO Radio and WSECU would like to recognize six oustanding citizens this year. Nominate them to be recognized and to receive a $2,000 charitable grant.