Will the new cell phone law change habits?
May 16, 2010, 4:27 PM | Updated: Mar 28, 2011, 3:46 pm
If you’re driving and you need to use a cell phone, do you use a hands-free device? About one third of those who responded to a KING 5/Survey USA poll said they “always” do, the rest are yacking while holding the phone to their ear.
Starting on June 10th, it will be against the law to use a cell phone while driving in Washington unless you have a hands-free option. Then, will you change your habits? The survey found 63 percent will always chat through a hands-free device, still 30 percent will “sometimes” or “never.”
The poll of 553 cell phone users also asked people what they do when a call comes in while they’re driving. No matter what, 76 percent say they answer the phone. When the law changes, 50 percent say they’ll still answer it if they don’t have a hands-free device.
Young people, between the ages of 18 and 34, aren’t crazy about using hands-free cell adapters. An overwhelming majority, 92 percent, say they’ll pick up a cell phone while driving when someone calls them, and 63 percent say they’ll continue to do that after June 10th. It is difficult to ignore a ringing phone.
Holding a cell phone to your ear while driving becomes a primary offense in our state on June 10th. The fine is $124. Five other states already prohibit handheld cell phones while driving – Oregon, California, Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York.