JASON RANTZ

Seattle Burger Review: Popular Red Mill spot is good, not great

May 10, 2019, 1:44 PM
Red Mill Burger...
Red Mill's burger was good, but didn't measure up to the hype as much as I had hoped. (Tom Amato, KTTH)
(Tom Amato, KTTH)

I’m on a mission to find the best burger in the city of Seattle. I travel to various burger joints within city limits and rate the establishment’s MOST POPULAR burger on a scale of 1-10. Of all the measures I use, taste is most important.

No eatery has been requested more than Red Mill Burgers. At the same time, no eatery has been scrutinized more. The general criticism I’ve heard on Red Mill is that it’s good, but overrated. So I went to Phinney Ridge to try out the regionally famous burger joint, which has an additional location in Ballard. I ordered the “Bacon Deluxe with Cheese.”

The presentation stood out immediately. It looked like it could be the best burger in the city. From symmetry to stacking size, it’s a well put-together burger.

They add a ton of bacon, which is great, but be aware of the salt factor. The Bacon Deluxe with Cheese comes with pepper bacon, lettuce, tomato, pickle, red onion, American cheese and Mill Sauce — which they describe as mayo — with a very light “smokey” flavor. I would agree with that description, and I was a fan.

By sheer holding size, it’s one of the bigger burgers I’ve reviewed, despite a relatively thin patty. It’s a quarter-pound of fresh, flame-broiled beef cooked to medium. The internal heat of the burger is what stood out to me, and it’s fairly crispy on the surface.

It’s served on a sesame seed bun that you could probably purchase at Walmart – it appears the main purpose of it is to hold everything together, as it won’t add much else. The onions are thin and I probably would have liked a little more flavor coming from them. The fries are OK and I went for them about halfway through.

The Bacon Deluxe with Cheese costs $7.75 which is a fine price for the burger you’re getting. It’s also important to note they offer other cheeses outside of American, but American is the default option for that burger.

Don’t get me wrong, this is a burger that you should reasonably expect to be consistently good. But it lacks something special the other burgers I’ve rated highly have had: That “it” factor that separates the good from really good.

Looking back at some of the “8” ratings I’ve given, Little Big Burger had very fresh onions that added some kick, as well as a good pairing between the burger and Brioche bun. Shake Shack masterfully chars the outside of the burger to add some crisp and crunch. And Zippy’s Giant Burgers just does everything well and nothing wrong. Still, I would actually recommend Red Mill Burgers to someone looking for a quality lunch.

Biggest strength(s): Presentation, meat temperature, sauce
Biggest weakness(s): Bun, onions

I’ll give the Bacon Deluxe with Cheese from Red Mill Burgers a 7.5/10.

What do you think of their burger? Where should I go next? Tweet me @NewProducerTom on Twitter.

Past reviews: 8 Oz. Burger (7.5/10), Little Big Burger (8/10), Uneeda Burger (5/10), Li’l Woody’s (7/10), CaliBurger (6/10), ShakeShack (8/10), Red Robin (7/10), BurgerMaster (4/10), Sam’s Tavern (7.5/10), Great State Burger (6.5/10), Zippy’s Giant Burgers (8/10)

Jason Rantz on AM 770 KTTH
  • listen to jason rantzTune in to AM 770 KTTH weekdays at 3-6pm toThe Jason Rantz Show.

Jason Rantz Show

Jason Rantz

Pierce County councilwoman Jani Hitchen (KIRO Newsradio)...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Democrat councilmember argues against school safety, mental health focus

In a pithy and poorly argued editorial in the Tacoma News Tribune, Hitchen rejects basic school safety measures -- many she's afforded as councilmember.
23 hours ago
(Photo by Karen Ducey/Getty Images)...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Gov Inslee and WA Democrats aren’t pro-choice. They’re pro-abortion

Inslee and his colleagues are not pro-choice. They're actually pro-abortion. There's a big difference between the two.
2 days ago
Seatac Traveler...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Violating policy, SeaTac Airport censored pro-life, conservative customers

The social media manager for SeaTac Airport censored pro-life, political messages it disagreed with by hiding them from its thread.
3 days ago
Photo from the Office of the Insurance Commissioner...
KTTH staff

State Sen. Muzzall on bipartisan support of insurance commissioner to resign

State Senator Ron Muzzall-R of Oak Harbor, came on the Jason Rantz show to discuss the scandal and why he thinks both Republicans and Democrats are uniting against Kreidler. 
6 days ago
(Photo by Suzi Pratt/FilmMagic)...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Cops rip bigoted Seattle Pride leaders as they ban uniformed officers from LGBT march

Initially, Seattle Pride explained that "all city departments – including SPD – are able to participate as contingents in the parade" this year.
7 days ago
The city hall and public library of Sultan, Washington, United States....
KTTH staff

Seattle exodus causes small Washington town to invest in new infrastructure

As Seattle housing prices continue to skyrocket, many look outside the city leading to new improvements needed in small towns like Sultan.
7 days ago

Sponsored Articles

Swedish Cyberknife 900x506...

June is Men’s Health Month: Here’s Why It’s Important To Speak About Your Health

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, men in the United States, on average, die five years earlier than women.
...

Anacortes – A Must Visit Summertime Destination

While Anacortes is certainly on the way to the San Juan Islands (SJI), it is not just a destination to get to the ferry… Anacortes is a destination in and of itself!
...

Ready for your 2022 Alaskan Adventure with Celebrity Cruises?

Celebrity Cruises SPONSORED — A round-trip Alaska cruise from Seattle is an amazing treat for you and a loved one. Not only are you able to see and explore some of the most incredible and visually appealing natural sights on the planet, but you’re also able to relax and re-energize while aboard a luxury cruise […]
...

Compassion International Is Determined to ‘Fill’ a Unique Type of Football ‘Stadium’

Compassion International SPONSORED — During this fall’s football season—and as the pandemic continues to impact the entire globe—one organization has been urging caring individuals to help it “fill” a unique type of “stadium” in order to make a lasting difference in the lives of many. Compassion International’s distinctive Fill the Stadium (FtS, fillthestadium.com) initiative provides […]
...

What are the Strongest, Greenest, Best Windows?

Lake Washington Windows & Doors SPONSORED — Fiberglass windows are an excellent choice for window replacement due to their fundamental strength and durability. There is no other type of window that lasts as long as fiberglass; so why go with anything else? Fiberglass windows are 8x stronger than vinyl, lower maintenance than wood, more thermally […]
...

COVID Vaccine is a Game-Changer for Keeping our Kids Healthy

Snohomish Health District SPONSORED — Cheers to the parents and guardians who keep their kids safe and healthy. The dad who cooks a meal with something green in it, even though he’s tired and drive-thru burgers were tempting. The mom who calms down the little one who loudly and resolutely does NOT want to brush […]
Seattle Burger Review: Popular Red Mill spot is good, not great