MYNORTHWEST BLOG

Opinion: No more reform — it’s time to rebuild Seattle policing

Jun 8, 2020, 2:08 PM | Updated: Jun 9, 2020, 5:22 am
Seattle police...
A protester stands before the police line on Capitol Hill. (Getty Images)
(Getty Images)

Another weekend of protests culminated in violence between police and protesters. And despite platitudes and promises from Mayor Jenny Durkan and Chief Carmen Best, what we saw was proof positive that it’s time for massive, wide-scale changes to how we police our city.

What does it mean when protesters call to defund the police?

On Friday, Durkan announced a 30-day pause on the use of tear gas. Just two days later, police authorized the use of tear gas anyway.

That came just hours after she admitted that police had not properly de-escalated a conflict on Saturday night, and had been too hasty in deciding to use dispersal methods like flash bangs. Sunday night ended in police again deciding to use those dispersal methods.

Suffice it to say, the cognitive dissonance from City Hall has been deafening. As the mayor’s office continues to promise deescalation, the city’s police force continues to sprint full-steam in the opposite direction.

What this all makes glaringly clear is that it’s time for more than incremental reform.

We’ve tried to institute a 30-day pause on tear gas — it took just two days to end. Seattle even has three separate police oversight committees. And yet, half measures like these have proven ineffective in managing a department either incapable or unwilling to fix itself, much less admit it needs to change anything at all.

On Monday, we saw the tipping point among Seattle city council members, who labeled our current system as “tainted,” “fundamentally broken,” and in need of radical transformation.

So, what comes next? What we do know is that it’s going to take more than better training or promises to try harder.

First, it’s time to ban the use of tear gas, flash bangs, rubber bullets, and other violent crowd control measures we’ve seen abused in recent weeks.

To insist that we need these weapons is to admit we’re unable to de-escalate a situation without them. More than that, if police aren’t interested in peacefully resolving conflicts, then we need to invest in an infrastructure that will.

Opinion: Believe what you see — Seattle police are choosing violence

Second, we need better information on how the department is spending its over $400 million budget, so we can ensure that any funding cuts are targeted and moved toward programs that need them most.

Third, we need to demilitarize the department, stop using weapons of war in the streets of our city, and focus on deescalation as a core, foundational principle, rather than a suggestion.

All this is designed to do one thing, and that’s to ensure that our law enforcement works for our community — especially our people of color — and not against it.

Thankfully, it sounds as though Seattle council members are preparing to work at achieving just that. The question remains whether other city leaders will be up to the task.

MyNorthwest Blog

pet names...
Stephanie Klein

Top dog and cat names in King County last year

King County released its 2021 list of most popular pet names and 'Bella' and 'Luna' came out on top.
18 days ago
Seattle election results, Seattle City Hall...
Nick Bowman

What Seattle can expect in new year with shakeups at city hall on the horizon

Seattle City Hall is in for a shakeup at the start of the new year, with a new mayor, councilmember, and city attorney all taking office in January.
22 days ago
unvaccinated officers Seattle...
Nick Bowman

Durkan, Seattle council engage in one final clash in closing days of mayoral term

With Jenny Durkan set to leave office in a matter of days, she and the council appear to have engaged in one final feud, this time over trees. 
23 days ago
Happy Holidays to all in 2021!...
MyNorthwest Staff

Happy Holidays from everyone at KIRO Radio, KTTH, and 710 ESPN Seattle

Your favorite cast of characters from KIRO Radio, AM 770 KTTH, and 710 ESPN Seattle present "A Visit from St. Nicholas."
28 days ago
seattle, blogs...
MyNorthwest Staff

Most read blogs on MyNorthwest in 2021

Commentators and personalities on KIRO Radio, KTTH, and MyNorthwest gave us insight into a range of topics in 2021.
29 days ago
most read stories...
MyNorthwest Staff

Most read news on MyNorthwest in 2021

Take a look back on 2021 and see what made the top-10 list of most read stories of the year on MyNorthwest.
1 month ago

Sponsored Articles

...

Compassion International Is Determined to ‘Fill’ a Unique Type of Football ‘Stadium’

Compassion International SPONSORED — During this fall’s football season—and as the pandemic continues to impact the entire globe—one organization has been urging caring individuals to help it “fill” a unique type of “stadium” in order to make a lasting difference in the lives of many. Compassion International’s distinctive Fill the Stadium (FtS, fillthestadium.com) initiative provides […]
...

What are the Strongest, Greenest, Best Windows?

Lake Washington Windows & Doors SPONSORED — Fiberglass windows are an excellent choice for window replacement due to their fundamental strength and durability. There is no other type of window that lasts as long as fiberglass; so why go with anything else? Fiberglass windows are 8x stronger than vinyl, lower maintenance than wood, more thermally […]
...

COVID Vaccine is a Game-Changer for Keeping our Kids Healthy

Snohomish Health District SPONSORED — Cheers to the parents and guardians who keep their kids safe and healthy. The dad who cooks a meal with something green in it, even though he’s tired and drive-thru burgers were tempting. The mom who calms down the little one who loudly and resolutely does NOT want to brush […]
...
Experience Anacortes

Coastal Christmas Celebration Week in Anacortes

With minimal travel time required and every activity under the sun, Anacortes is the perfect vacation spot for all ages.
...

Delayed-Onset PTSD: Signs and Symptoms

Lakeside-Milam Recovery Centers SPONSORED — You’re probably familiar with post-traumatic stress disorder. Often abbreviated as PTSD, this condition is diagnosed when a person experiences a set of symptoms for at least a month after a traumatic event. However, for some people, these issues take longer to develop. This results in a diagnosis of delayed-onset PTSD […]
...

Medicare open enrollment ends Dec. 7. Free unbiased help is here!

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner SPONSORED — Medicare’s Open Enrollment Period, also called the Annual Election Period, is Oct. 15 to Dec. 7. During this time, people enrolled in Medicare can: Switch from Original Medicare to a Medicare Advantage plan and vice versa. Join, drop or switch a Part D prescription drug plan, […]
Opinion: No more reform — it’s time to rebuild Seattle policing