JASON RANTZ

Rantz: County director commented on dead man’s genitalia — complaint swept under rug?

Jul 13, 2020, 7:32 PM | Updated: Jul 14, 2020, 11:04 am
Deborah Jacobs...
Deborah Jacobs. (OLEO, Facebook)
(OLEO, Facebook)

A complaint lodged against a powerful law enforcement oversight director was mishandled and swept under the rug, according to a King County Sheriff’s Deputy who is now speaking on the record.

Deputy Jesse Herrera says Office of Law Enforcement Oversight (OLEO) director Deborah Jacobs commented on the size of a deceased man’s genitalia at the Medical Examiner’s Office during the autopsy of 20-year-old Tommy Le. Jacobs currently faces an unrelated complaint, investigated last week, alleging a toxic work environment due to racism and transphobia.

Though Herrera’s complaint was forwarded to the King County Council, he argues the investigation wasn’t taken seriously. Sources tell the Jason Rantz Show that they perceive Jacobs as well-liked and protected by some councilmembers. Indeed, text messages reveal the director may have cozy relationships with at least two councilmembers.

Read the complaint.

The shocking complaint

Herrera was working on the high-profile officer involved shooting investigation of Le when he met Jacobs on July 14, 2017, at the Medical Examiner’s Office for the young man’s autopsy.

While there, he says Jacobs saw a nude, deceased man unrelated to the case, waiting for an autopsy. That’s where Herrera complains Jacobs became wildly inappropriate and unprofessional. According to the complaint:

Deborah looked at me and said ‘Did you see the guy with the big penis?’ I told her no as I looked over to the rest of the deceased bodies. She then said, ‘that one, what causes that?’ I saw the deceased body she was talking about and told her it was probably a result of all the blood rushing to the lower part of the body. This made me uncomfortable and I walked away from her …

Herrera was shocked and offended.

“In my 20 years of being a deputy, I have never experienced anything like that, especially in that sort of environment, because that’s somebody’s son, father, brother, potentially grandfather and that’s not respectful at all,” Herrera exclusively tells the Jason Rantz Show on KTTH.

Herrera says the comment was “definitely sexual in nature” and made him feel uncomfortable enough to complain to the Sheriff’s Office. The complaint made its way to Carolyn Busch, chief of staff to the Council.

Jacobs doesn’t deny substance of allegations

Jacobs doesn’t deny the comment was made, though she quibbles with the use of the word “penis” during the chat. The OLEO director wrote her recollection of the conversation in a statement during the investigation:

… I remembered that while waiting on the autopsy there was casual conversation, including one of the law enforcement professionals present mentioning that the bodies undergoing autopsy looked like movie props. Later I asked about the condition of one of the bodies, the bottom half of which was abnormally engorged. Deputy Herrera answered that the likelihood is that the person died while sitting up and remained in that position for some time.

I don’t remembering [sic] using the word ‘penis’ but it’s possible I did, considering it’s an anatomical description.

I am confident that my tone or language was in no way disrespectful toward the deceased.

Jacobs went on to say she didn’t think she engaged in wrongdoing, but “because it apparently offended Deputy Herrera,” she offered to apologize.

The mishandling claim

Herrera believes the investigation wasn’t taken seriously. He said he had to insist several times that it be fully investigated. Busch herself noted in her report that she looked into the issue “primarily due to Deputy Herrera’s insistence,” implying something like this wouldn’t normally be investigated.

The investigation went forward but the Deputy says he wasn’t contacted by Busch until her conclusion had been reached. And the Council never heard from him, either. Instead, they were just given findings.

Though Busch says there was a good faith attempt to connect Herrera with Jacobs to discuss the concerns, she implies Herrera simply wasn’t interested. She doesn’t, however, note why. Herrera says he wouldn’t meet with Jacobs before the investigation was underway because it didn’t seem appropriate until after findings were presented.

“If the roles were switched … my name would be plastered all over the news,” Herrera explained. “I probably wouldn’t be talking to you today if I made a comment about female genitalia … So I basically told [Busch] I want an investigation done.”

The findings

Busch found that while the comments were unprofessional, she felt confident that Jacobs would not repeat the behavior.

“Deborah Jacobs has committed to the Chief of Staff to be more thoughtful and intentional in her comments with all officers in the future,” the report concludes. “She recognizes that being involved in law enforcement oversight may inspire unintentional tension and her curious and friendly demeanor can be misunderstood.”

No disciplinary action was taken. The Employment and Administration Committee was offered the report and the issue was closed. But not for Herrera, who called the investigation “one sided.”

Special treatment?

Herrera believes Jacobs has a cozy relationship with county Councilmembers Joe McDermott and Dave Upthegrove. He suspects they protected Jacobs from any additional fallout.

As proof, Herrera points to text conversations between Jacobs and the two councilmembers that shows them to be friendly. He discovered the texts from a public disclosure request and shared them with the Jason Rantz Show on KTTH.

Upthegrove had a close enough relationship with Jacobs to joke about a meeting he was attending during a text exchange on July 16, 2018, as they discussed meeting for dinner or drinks after a meeting.

“You couldn’t pay me to sit through an entire Burien council meeting,” Upthegrove joked via text.

It elicited a “Lolz” from Jacobs.

She appears to have a similar relationship with McDermott.

In an exchange between Jacobs and McDermott on August 27, 2018, she thanks the councilmember for supporting a budget request for two new OLEO staffers.

“You’re the best,” she says.

McDermott playfully responds, “You say that when I was asking followups you couldn’t answer. ;)”

After more chatting, she calls him her “favorite person ever.”

Neither Upthegrove nor McDermott responded to requests for comment. Jacobs ignored my requests for comment, as well.

Jacobs’ job is on the line

The King County Council is currently deliberating on whether or not they will extend Jacobs’ appointment as the OLEO director.

But before they make the decision, they’ll have to complete an investigation into an anonymous complaint alleging similarly unprofessional conduct, including explaining white men are better suited for some county jobs, purposefully excluding transgender women from parties, calling a Vlack-owned business “ghetto,” and referring to the law enforcement officers she oversees as “[expletive] heads.”

Councilwoman Claudia Balducci tells the Jason Rantz Show on KTTH that she wants this resolved as soon as possible. And while she can’t comment on the active investigation, she did say Herrera’s complaint can factor into their decisions on the current complaint and the reappointment.

If Herrera had his way, Jacobs won’t see a reappointment.

“And for me, the only way it gets resolved is she needs to go,” Herrera said. “Then you’ll have somebody that goes into that position and will actually do what the job specifies them to do.”

We could have answers on Jacobs’ future in as little as two weeks.

Listen to the Jason Rantz Show weekday afternoons from 3-6 p.m. on KTTH 770 AM (or HD Radio 97.3 FM HD-Channel 3). Subscribe to the podcast here. Follow @JasonRantz on Twitter and Instagram or like me on Facebook

Jason Rantz on AM 770 KTTH
  • listen to jason rantzTune in to AM 770 KTTH weekdays at 3-6pm toThe Jason Rantz Show.

Jason Rantz Show

Jason Rantz

tacoma, officers, tacoma police, manny ellis, Urquhart...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Police staffing crisis in Tacoma is nearly as bad as Seattle, morale ‘decimated’

The Tacoma Police Department is dramatically understaffed as crime continues to surge across the city. Police officers are now sounding the alarms.
1 day ago
vaccinations...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Inslee firing thousands isn’t about health – it’s about forced vaccinations

Governor Jay Inslee's COVID-19 vaccine mandate isn't about public health. It's about power and forced vaccinations. 
2 days ago
Troyer...
KTTH staff

Pierce County Sheriff Troyer says he knew charges were ‘coming since day one’

Pierce County Sheriff Ed Troyer joins the Jason Rantz Show to react to two misdemeanor charges against him from the attorney general's office.
2 days ago
troyer...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: State AG charges Pierce County Sheriff with 2 misdemeanors after ‘unusual’ move

Attorney General Bob Ferguson's office is readying misdemeanor charges against Pierce County Sheriff Ed Troyer. The filing could come as early as Tuesday.
3 days ago
police, consent decree...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Seattle mayor downplays crisis, falsely says only 24 officers didn’t turn in vaccine paperwork

Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan told reporters on Monday that "only about two dozen officers have not put in their [vaccine] paperwork" ahead of the midnight deadline.
3 days ago
unvaccinated officers Seattle...
KTTH staff

Seattle mayor: ‘About two dozen’ SPD officers have yet to submit proof of vaccination

Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan and interim Chief Adrian Diaz both submitted final pleas to unvaccinated officers over the weekend. 
3 days ago

Sponsored Articles

...

Medicare open enrollment for 2022 starts Oct. 15 and SHIBA can help!

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner SPONSORED — Medicare’s Open Enrollment Period, also called the Annual Election Period, is Oct. 15 to Dec. 7. During this time, people enrolled in Medicare can: Switch from Original Medicare to a Medicare Advantage plan and vice versa. Join, drop or switch a Part D prescription drug plan, […]
...

How to Have a Stress-Free Real Estate Experience

The real estate industry has adapted and sellers are taking full advantage of new real estate models. One of which is Every Door Real Estate.
...
IQ Air

How Poor Air Quality Is Affecting Our Future Athletes

You cannot control your child’s breathing environment 100% of the time, but you can make a huge impact.
...
Swedish Health Services

Special Coverage: National Prostate Cancer Awareness Month

There are a wide variety of treatment options available for men with prostate cancer. The most technologically advanced treatment option in the Northwest is Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy using the CyberKnife platform.
...
Marysville Police Department

Police Opportunities in a Growing, Supportive Washington Community

Marysville PD is looking for both lateral and entry level officers. Begin or continue your career in law enforcement for a growing, supportive community.
...
Comcast

Small, Minority-Owned Businesses in King County and Pierce County Can Now Apply For $10,000 Relief Grants Through Comcast RISE

Businesses in King County and Pierce County can apply beginning on October 1, 2021, at www.ComcastRISE.com for a chance to receive a $10,000 relief grant.
Rantz: County director commented on dead man’s genitalia — complaint swept under rug?