Share this story...
Latest News

Victoria Woodards, Steve Haverly leading in City of Tacoma mayoral primary

Victoria Woodards and Steve Haverly are leading in the race for Tacoma’s mayor in primary election returns, garnering 51.83% and 32% of the vote, respectively.

See all local election results

Trailing behind Woodards and Haverly is Jamika Scott with 15.84% of the vote.

Incumbent Victoria Woodards was first elected mayor in 2017. She served on Tacoma City Council from 2009 to 2016. Woodards is a U.S. Army veteran with a background in public service. In 2017’s Tacoma mayoral election, she defeated Jim Merritt with 54% of the vote.

Steve Haverly is a fourth generation Tacoma resident with a background in construction management.

Jamika Scott, a community organizer and resident of Central Tacoma, is the co-founder of the Tacoma Action Collective, a local group working to “eliminate systemic oppression and structural violence while empowering the people to build autonomous communities rooted in equality and justice.”

Most Popular