MYNORTHWEST NEWS

More than one-quarter of WA drivers polled admit to committing a hit-and-run

Nov 4, 2022, 3:20 PM | Updated: 10:53 pm

hit-and-run...

According to a PEMCO Insurance poll, 28% of Washington drivers admitted to hitting a parked car and driving off without leaving a note. (Steve Russell/Getty Images)

(Steve Russell/Getty Images)

It’s illegal in every state to crash and dash, yet drivers still do it.

According to a PEMCO Insurance poll (from a few years ago), 28% of Washington drivers polled admitted to hitting a parked car and driving off without leaving a note.

As staggering as the numbers are in WA, numbers from Portland, OR were much worse, coming in at 47%.

“Oh no, am I going to get in trouble? Will I get a ticket? What will this do for me financially? Will it affect my insurance? Those are all typical reasons we see when it comes to this type of behavior,” PEMCO spokesperson Allison Leep said. “If you find yourself a victim of a hit-and-run, think safety first. Get help immediately. Make sure your car is out of harm’s way. Then, gather as much information as possible. Gather! Gather! Gather!”

More from Micki Gamez: Deer-hitting season is in full effect throughout WA

What information should you gather?

  1. Take out your phone and take pictures. Get close-ups. Be as detailed as possible.
  2. Call the police and stay on the scene until they arrive. Sometimes officers won’t respond, but the dispatcher will help you with what to do next.
  3. Think of your insurance company. Call them. It’s a must if injuries are involved.
  4. Ask a surrounding business if they have cameras.

Leep said hit-and-run accidents can be covered under your insurance if it’s a part of your coverage. Make sure to call your agent and discuss the hit-and-run scenario and whether you are covered or not.

But what happens if you hit a car with no one around?

  1. Make sure you leave a note under the windshield wiper. Your note should include the date and time, document the damage that occurred, and of course, leave your contact information.
  2. Take out your phone and take detailed pictures of the damage. This kind of documentation is going to help you from being blamed for other damages you didn’t cause.
  3. Call your insurance company and submit a claim, especially if your vehicle is damaged.

If you need help with writing a script, PEMCO said it should read something like this:

“On (date and time), I hit your (color, make, model) car, license plate (number). My (part of car) contacted your car’s (part). Please call me so that I can provide my insurance information.

(Your name, phone number)” 

Remember, hit-and-runs are illegal and keep in mind there are traffic cameras just about everywhere, so it’s better to be honest than to just drive away.

A Washington State hit-and-run unattended charge is a misdemeanor criminal offense punishable by up to a maximum of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. A conviction for an unattended hit-and-run will not suspend or revoke your driver’s license but may increase your insurance costs.

Follow Micki Gamez on Twitter or email her here.

MyNorthwest News

schools Superintendent Ben Shuldiner...

Gee Scott and Ursula Reutin Show

‘They can all come in’: Seattle schools superintendent says mergers could close 10 buildings, argues plan is about education

Seattle Public Schools could close 10 school buildings under a merger plan. Superintendent Ben Shuldiner said the goal is to improve education.

5 minutes ago

transgender sports ban...

Aaron Granillo

WA Democrats: Fight over transgender girls’ sports ban ‘just beginning’

Washington state Democrats pledged Thursday to challenge Washington's newly approved ban on transgender girls in school sports.

1 hour ago

Bearista cold cup...

Julia Dallas

Starbucks holiday menu now in coffeehouses; Bearista cold cup return still ahead

Starbucks’ holiday menu is now available, but fans will have to wait for the viral Bearista cold cup, whose return date has not been announced.

2 hours ago

transgender girls sports I-638...

Frank Sumrall

I-638 passes, will bar transgender girls from girls’ school sports

Initiative 638 has passed, barring transgender girls from girls’ school sports. The Associated Press called the race.

2 hours ago

WA albertsons penalty...

Ania Keenan, KIRO 7

Albertson’s faces $900 million penalty for failing to stop opioid misuse in WA

Albertsons pharmacies will pay $900 million to Washington after a King County judge ruled Thursday that the company failed to prevent the misuse of opioids.

3 hours ago

spokane county shooting sheriff...

Luke Duecy

Spokane County Sheriff’s Office disables Facebook comments after deadly shooting, citing threats and hate speech

The Spokane County Sheriff's Office is turning off comments on its Facebook after a shooting left a deputy dead and the agency facing a wave of vulgar language.

4 hours ago

More than one-quarter of WA drivers polled admit to committing a hit-and-run