KTTH

Burger review: Zippy’s giant burger is, quietly, a tasty burger

May 3, 2019, 10:11 AM
brgr...
(Tom Amato, KTTH)
(Tom Amato, KTTH)

I’m on a mission to find the best burger in the city of Seattle. I travel to various burger joints within city limits and rate the establishment’s most popular burger on a scale of 1-10. Of all the measures I use, taste is most important.

Between the Jason Rantz Show text-line, comment sections on MyNorthwest, and the tweets I receive, Zippy’s Giant Burgers is one of the most recommended joints. So I decided that I had to go there. The decor didn’t disappoint: It has this retro, diner-like feel. There are arcade machines and those red, bolt-down barstools that were a classic fixture of the mid-1900’s scene (so I’m told). My guess is if you grew up in the ’60s and ’70s, you’ll really love the atmosphere.

I ordered the “Zip Burger with cheese and bacon.” My first impression was the burger is much smaller than advertised. Giant? The meat is relatively thick, but if you used the term, “giant” I better be asking for a box. Expect to receive a burger that’s average-size, and fits in your hand. If you recommend this place to someone, just call it “Zippy’s.”

warrant
A Zip Burger with cheese and bacon. (Tom Amato, KTTH)

All-in-all, this is your classic, American-made burger. It’s charbroiled, hand-ground beef that’s crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. It’s cooked to medium-well and comes with tomato, pickles, red onions, lettuce and Zippy’s sauce; add in the bacon and cheese and it’s everything you would reasonably expect on a burger. It all comes on a cornmeal dusted, Kaiser bun that won’t add anything to the meal.

The cheese comes American, but apparently you can ask for a different kind. I didn’t know that — the woman at the register didn’t address it. I would have asked for Pepper Jack. Upon closer examination, it does say that on the corner of the menu. Whoops.

The vegetables were fresh, crisp and the onions add some crunch. It’s probably a good idea to add bacon, but there would still be plenty of flavor without it. I didn’t touch the fries throughout the course of consumption for two reasons: The burger was too good to put down and the fries were sub-par. It should fill up an average-size person.

This is quietly a tasty burger. With all the ingredients and vegetables, there’s a lot going on in terms of flavor. It doesn’t take much risk, there’s other options on the menu for that, but the Zip burger with cheese and bacon does the little things well.

Have you ever filled out a form where you answer questions based on a 1-5 scale? Maybe it was a work survey based on how problems are handled in the workplace with “1” being bad and “5” being great? If we translated that to this burger, the meat, every individual vegetable and the sauce would receive a “4.”

A plain Zip burger’ is $6.50. A Zip burger with cheese and bacon is $8, so you’re definitely getting your money’s worth.

Burger rankings

Biggest strength(s): Crispy beef, vegetables, American

Biggest weakness(s): Bun, verbiage

I’ll give the Zip Burger with bacon and cheese from Zippy’s Giant Burgers an 8/10.

What do you think of their burger? Where should I go next? Tweet me @NewProducerTom on Twitter.

Past reviews: 8 OZ. Burger (7.5/10), Little Big Burger (8/10), Uneeda Burger (5/10), Li’l Woody’s (7/10), CaliBurger (6/10), ShakeShack (8/10), Red Robin (7/10), BurgerMaster (4/10), Sam’s Tavern (7.5/10), Great State Burger (6.5/10)

Jason Rantz on AM 770 KTTH
  • listen to jason rantzTune in to AM 770 KTTH weekdays at 3-6pm toThe Jason Rantz Show.

Jason Rantz Show

KTTH

Pierce County councilwoman Jani Hitchen (KIRO Newsradio)...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Democrat councilmember argues against school safety, mental health focus

In a pithy and poorly argued editorial in the Tacoma News Tribune, Hitchen rejects basic school safety measures -- many she's afforded as councilmember.
23 hours ago
strike...
KTTH staff

Bigger issues at play than just reproductive health in WA lawmaker’s call for a general women’s strike

U.S. Rep. Pramila Jayapal calls for a general women's strike in a push to codify Roe, but the left doesn't just want expanded access to abortion.
23 hours ago
(Photo by Karen Ducey/Getty Images)...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Gov Inslee and WA Democrats aren’t pro-choice. They’re pro-abortion

Inslee and his colleagues are not pro-choice. They're actually pro-abortion. There's a big difference between the two.
2 days ago
Seatac Traveler...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Violating policy, SeaTac Airport censored pro-life, conservative customers

The social media manager for SeaTac Airport censored pro-life, political messages it disagreed with by hiding them from its thread.
3 days ago
roe...
KTTH staff

‘The will of the states will be expressed:’ Rantz, Suits, KTTH hosts celebrate SCOTUS’ Roe decision

50 years after Roe v. Wade was handed down by the Supreme Court, pro-life supporters can breathe a sigh of relief with Friday’s landmark decision, overturning federal protections for abortion.
5 days ago
Photo from the Office of the Insurance Commissioner...
KTTH staff

State Sen. Muzzall on bipartisan support of insurance commissioner to resign

State Senator Ron Muzzall-R of Oak Harbor, came on the Jason Rantz show to discuss the scandal and why he thinks both Republicans and Democrats are uniting against Kreidler. 
6 days ago

Sponsored Articles

Swedish Cyberknife 900x506...

June is Men’s Health Month: Here’s Why It’s Important To Speak About Your Health

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, men in the United States, on average, die five years earlier than women.
...

Anacortes – A Must Visit Summertime Destination

While Anacortes is certainly on the way to the San Juan Islands (SJI), it is not just a destination to get to the ferry… Anacortes is a destination in and of itself!
...

Ready for your 2022 Alaskan Adventure with Celebrity Cruises?

Celebrity Cruises SPONSORED — A round-trip Alaska cruise from Seattle is an amazing treat for you and a loved one. Not only are you able to see and explore some of the most incredible and visually appealing natural sights on the planet, but you’re also able to relax and re-energize while aboard a luxury cruise […]
...

Compassion International Is Determined to ‘Fill’ a Unique Type of Football ‘Stadium’

Compassion International SPONSORED — During this fall’s football season—and as the pandemic continues to impact the entire globe—one organization has been urging caring individuals to help it “fill” a unique type of “stadium” in order to make a lasting difference in the lives of many. Compassion International’s distinctive Fill the Stadium (FtS, fillthestadium.com) initiative provides […]
...

What are the Strongest, Greenest, Best Windows?

Lake Washington Windows & Doors SPONSORED — Fiberglass windows are an excellent choice for window replacement due to their fundamental strength and durability. There is no other type of window that lasts as long as fiberglass; so why go with anything else? Fiberglass windows are 8x stronger than vinyl, lower maintenance than wood, more thermally […]
...

COVID Vaccine is a Game-Changer for Keeping our Kids Healthy

Snohomish Health District SPONSORED — Cheers to the parents and guardians who keep their kids safe and healthy. The dad who cooks a meal with something green in it, even though he’s tired and drive-thru burgers were tempting. The mom who calms down the little one who loudly and resolutely does NOT want to brush […]
Burger review: Zippy’s giant burger is, quietly, a tasty burger