Has Washington finally done its last ‘spring forward’? Lawmakers are hoping so

Mar 15, 2021, 8:07 AM | Updated: 11:24 am

Daylight Saving Time...

(Getty Images)

(Getty Images)

On Sunday, Washingtonians joined most of the country in setting their clocks forward. Almost two years after state lawmakers passed a bill to keep the state in Daylight Saving Time permanently, the wheels are turning yet again to ensure that measure finally gets enacted.

How to deal with inevitable fatigue you’ll feel after springing forward

Current laws require a federal waiver for any state wishing to remain Daylight Saving Time full-time, which has kept Washington in a holding pattern since 2019. As the state bill’s sponsor, Rep. Marcus Riccelli, points out, the approval of that waiver continues to be entirely dependent on either Congress or the Secretary of Transportation taking swift action in the months to come.

Perhaps a better bet, though, could be Florida Senator Marco Rubio’s reintroduction of the Sunshine Protection Act. Rubio’s bill — which was co-sponsored by Washington Sen. Patty Murray on the last go-around in 2020 — would keep the entire country in Daylight Saving Time. With lawmakers focused largely on the COVID crisis, it didn’t make it past its introduction in the Senate last year.

Proponents of permanent Daylight Saving Time have pointed to a series of benefits, including reduced crime rates, fewer vehicular accidents, and better overall health. The hope is that with the latest — and likely last — large-scale COVID relief bill now passed, the focus can now turn to what’s proven to be a widely popular concept.

‘The time has come’ to fix Daylight Saving

“It’s the overwhelming will of the people in Washington state to make Daylight Savings Time permanent,” Sen. Murray said over the weekend, vowing to push for this latest spring forward to be the final one the country participates in.

Promises like that have also been frequent since Washington passed its permanent DST legislation, but with 15 states now having passed similar laws, the hope is that there will be enough momentum to finally push it across the finish line nationally.

Other states and territories that currently observe Daylight Saving Time year-round include American Samoa, Guam, the Minor Outlying Islands, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Both Hawaii and Arizona (with the exception of tribal lands) observe standard time year-round.

MyNorthwest News

jewelry scam...

Charlie Harger

Nationwide fake jewelry scam affects local residents

Police around the country are warning about a scam where people are selling counterfeit jewelry in parking lots, a crime spree that is occurring locally.

2 hours ago

yelm standoff...

Frank Sumrall

Two people dead in Yelm standoff involving SWAT, bomb squad

A long police standoff in Yelm ended with two people dead Tuesday night, with law enforcement a death investigation nearby could be related.

5 hours ago

king county scam...

Sam Campbell

King County Sheriff: Watch for scam phone calls pretending to be law enforcement

Have you gotten a call from someone claiming they're a cop with an arrest warrant for you? Then you may have been targeted in a local scam.

6 hours ago

bothell couple ammo boxes...

Louie Tran, KIRO 7 News

Bothell couple says neighbor threatened them by leaving empty ammo boxes outside of their home

A Bothell couple said their neighbor has been threatening them for more than half a year, allegedly leaving empty boxes of ammo outside of their home.

6 hours ago

Image: A sign for Frank Love Elementary School in Bothell can be seen in a fence at the school....

James Lynch and Sam Campbell

Alleged stalker tried to kidnap teen in front of her parents in Bothell, documents state

Court documents say a girl, 17, was standing with her parents outside an elementary school, when Fernando Rojas allegedly grabbed the teen.

10 hours ago

Image: Seattle Chief of Police Adrian Diaz, left, and Seattle Police Department Captain Eric Greeni...

Matt Markovich

‘Discriminatory practices’: Seattle police captain sues city, Chief Adrian Diaz

A longtime Seattle Police Department captain filed a discrimination lawsuit Monday against the city of Seattle and Chief Adrian Diaz.

20 hours ago

Has Washington finally done its last ‘spring forward’? Lawmakers are hoping so