JASON RANTZ

Seattle Burger Review: Pioneer Square’s BRGR is your typical ‘bar burger’

Jun 14, 2019, 9:42 AM | Updated: 11:14 am
brgr...
(Tom Amato, KTTH)
(Tom Amato, KTTH)

I’m on a mission to find the best burger in the city of Seattle. I travel to various burger joints within city limits and rate the establishment’s most popular burger on a scale of 1-10. Of all the measures I use, taste is most important. 

BRGR Bar is in Pioneer Square. The inside of the bar couldn’t resemble the locale more. Cigarette-smoke aroma drifts through the tiny confines, the single-occupancy bathroom isn’t clean (and smells the part), the old wooden floor doesn’t look particularly polished, and the sunlight coming through the doorway doesn’t reach majority of the bar. It’s a good thing they serve food, however.  

They told me their most popular burger varied by the day, but indicated “The Classic” is well-received when bacon is added. It’s a beef patty topped with American cheese, arugula, house-made thousand island sauce, and served on a brioche bun they receive fresh from Grand Central Bakery a block away. They ask you how you would like it cooked and I said medium. It was cooked properly.  

It’s a very wide burger that probably tops a quarter-pound. One thing I think I’ve discovered during my burger expedition is how many restaurants fib about their beef being a quarter-pound.

BRGR Bar
The “Classic” burger from BRGR Bar in Pioneer Square

Unfortunately, I don’t bring a scale with me, but the beef from BRGR looked the part. It’s a thicker-than-thin slab of beef that probably contains a tad more fat content than most. It’s very filling, as I came hungry and left stuffed.

Make sure to note the internal heat of the patty; it comes hot. The fries were delicious, and I would have mixed some in during consumption, but the burger was greasy and I wanted to keep it in my hands to avoid spreading grease everywhere.  

There was a ton of drip associated with the burger, but it was fairly dry in terms of sauce, which should tell you something about the grease. The burger isn’t particularly juicy either. They could throw some more thousand island sauce on, but they might be weary of the mess it would exacerbate.

The brioche bun is very fluffy, which I always enjoy. The bottom will get soggy, but an average speed eater should be able to finish the whole thing before completely losing it. I had no qualms with any of the vegetables on the burger. I normally advocate for onions, but in this case, I think with the little amount of sauce they put on, as well as the grease factor, onions might not mesh well.  

Let’s touch on the arugula: My stance on arugula, which may differ from yours, is that it’s unnecessary on burgers. I’m not convinced it contributes to the taste much. However, what it does do is fall out and get stuck in my teeth. If it comes on a burger, I’ll be fine with it, but let’s not pretend putting arugula on an American-made burger will make it jump from a 6 to a 6.5. It doesn’t need to be there.  

“The Classic” is $7.50 on its own, but $9.50 if you add fries. Adding bacon to the burger will cost you an extra $3.00. It’s important to remember that you’ll be dining in Pioneer Square, so in your head, make sure to acknowledge you’ll be spending another $5.00 on parking.  

BRGR Bar burger ratings

Biggest strength(s): Size, internal heat, good taste overall  

Biggest weakness(s): Drips grease, dry, atmosphere isn’t appetizing  

This is your basic “bar burger.” Bars, on average, do two things well: Sell alcohol and grill burgers. The good thing about bar burgers is they’re usually good. I’ll give “The Classic” from BRGR Bar a 7/10.  

What do you think of their burger? Where should I go next? Tweet me, @TommAmato. 

Past reviews: 8 Oz Burger (7.5/10), Little Big Burger (8/10), Uneeda Burger (5/10), Li’l Woody’s (7/10), CaliBurger (6/10), ShakeShack (8/10), Red Robin (7/10), BurgerMaster (4/10), Sam’s Tavern (7.5/10), Great State Burger (6.5/10), Zippy’s Giant Burgers (8/10), Red Mill (7.5/10), Henry’s Tavern (Bellevue) (9/10), Impossible Burger (1/10), Katsu Burger (7.5/10), Rain City Burgers (6/10)

Jason Rantz on AM 770 KTTH
  • listen to jason rantzTune in to AM 770 KTTH weekdays at 3-6pm toThe Jason Rantz Show.

Jason Rantz Show

Jason Rantz

Pierce County councilwoman Jani Hitchen (KIRO Newsradio)...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Democrat councilmember argues against school safety, mental health focus

In a pithy and poorly argued editorial in the Tacoma News Tribune, Hitchen rejects basic school safety measures -- many she's afforded as councilmember.
24 hours ago
(Photo by Karen Ducey/Getty Images)...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Gov Inslee and WA Democrats aren’t pro-choice. They’re pro-abortion

Inslee and his colleagues are not pro-choice. They're actually pro-abortion. There's a big difference between the two.
2 days ago
Seatac Traveler...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Violating policy, SeaTac Airport censored pro-life, conservative customers

The social media manager for SeaTac Airport censored pro-life, political messages it disagreed with by hiding them from its thread.
3 days ago
Photo from the Office of the Insurance Commissioner...
KTTH staff

State Sen. Muzzall on bipartisan support of insurance commissioner to resign

State Senator Ron Muzzall-R of Oak Harbor, came on the Jason Rantz show to discuss the scandal and why he thinks both Republicans and Democrats are uniting against Kreidler. 
6 days ago
(Photo by Suzi Pratt/FilmMagic)...
Jason Rantz

Rantz: Cops rip bigoted Seattle Pride leaders as they ban uniformed officers from LGBT march

Initially, Seattle Pride explained that "all city departments – including SPD – are able to participate as contingents in the parade" this year.
7 days ago
The city hall and public library of Sultan, Washington, United States....
KTTH staff

Seattle exodus causes small Washington town to invest in new infrastructure

As Seattle housing prices continue to skyrocket, many look outside the city leading to new improvements needed in small towns like Sultan.
7 days ago

Sponsored Articles

Swedish Cyberknife 900x506...

June is Men’s Health Month: Here’s Why It’s Important To Speak About Your Health

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, men in the United States, on average, die five years earlier than women.
...

Anacortes – A Must Visit Summertime Destination

While Anacortes is certainly on the way to the San Juan Islands (SJI), it is not just a destination to get to the ferry… Anacortes is a destination in and of itself!
...

Ready for your 2022 Alaskan Adventure with Celebrity Cruises?

Celebrity Cruises SPONSORED — A round-trip Alaska cruise from Seattle is an amazing treat for you and a loved one. Not only are you able to see and explore some of the most incredible and visually appealing natural sights on the planet, but you’re also able to relax and re-energize while aboard a luxury cruise […]
...

Compassion International Is Determined to ‘Fill’ a Unique Type of Football ‘Stadium’

Compassion International SPONSORED — During this fall’s football season—and as the pandemic continues to impact the entire globe—one organization has been urging caring individuals to help it “fill” a unique type of “stadium” in order to make a lasting difference in the lives of many. Compassion International’s distinctive Fill the Stadium (FtS, fillthestadium.com) initiative provides […]
...

What are the Strongest, Greenest, Best Windows?

Lake Washington Windows & Doors SPONSORED — Fiberglass windows are an excellent choice for window replacement due to their fundamental strength and durability. There is no other type of window that lasts as long as fiberglass; so why go with anything else? Fiberglass windows are 8x stronger than vinyl, lower maintenance than wood, more thermally […]
...

COVID Vaccine is a Game-Changer for Keeping our Kids Healthy

Snohomish Health District SPONSORED — Cheers to the parents and guardians who keep their kids safe and healthy. The dad who cooks a meal with something green in it, even though he’s tired and drive-thru burgers were tempting. The mom who calms down the little one who loudly and resolutely does NOT want to brush […]
Seattle Burger Review: Pioneer Square’s BRGR is your typical ‘bar burger’